Skip to Content

Sunday, September 19th, 2021

Election Commission of Pakistan meeting held chaired under Chief Election Commission of Pakistan

Be First!

Islamabad: 1. A meeting of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) was held today under the chairmanship of Hon’ble Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan, Justice (R) Hamid Ali Mirza and attended by Hon’ble Members Election Commission of Pakistan, namely, Justice (Retd) Riaz Kayani, Justice (Retd) Shezad Akbar Khan and Justice (Retd) Fazal-ur-Rehman. Mr. Ishtiaq Ahmad Khan, Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan and other senior officers also attended the meeting.

2. After due deliberation and discussion on different items of Agenda, the Election Commission of Pakistan, inter alia, took the following decisions unanimously:

i) As to the issue of bye-elections conducted by the Chief Election Commissioner after promulgation of the 18th Amendment to the Constitution, the ECP as per direction of the Hon’ble Supreme Court of Pakistan dated 4th July 2011 passed in C.P. No. 31/2011 (Imran Khan vs. Election Commission of Pakistan & others), decided to send letters to all the 28 returned candidates alongwith Attorney General of Pakistan for 13th August 2011 for hearing their view point to resolve the issue. Attorney General shall also be requested to assist the Commission in the matter.

ii) The documents submitted by the Chief Organizer All Pakistan Muslim League, Mr. Muhammad Ali Saif were found to be in conformity with the provisions of the Political Parties Order, 2002 and directed to be retained on record in accordance with law.

For more information, contact:
Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)
Election Commission of Pakistan Secretariat
Election House, Constitution Avenue G-5/2, Islamabad
Tel: +9251 920 1975, +9251 920 6062
Fax: +9251 920 5402, +9251 920 5300


Leave a Reply