Skip to Content

Election Commission of Pakistan takes Important Decisions in Its 8th Meeting

Be First!
by December 1, 2011 Miscellaneous

Islamabad: A meeting of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) was held today under the chairmanship of Hon’ble Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan, Mr. Justice (R) Hamid Ali Mirza and attended by Hon’ble Members Election Commission of Pakistan, namely, Justice (Retd) Riaz Kayani, and Justice (Retd) Shazhad Akbar Khan. Mr. Ishtiak Ahmad Khan, Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan and other senior officers also attended the meeting.

2. After due deliberation and discussion on different important issues/items of Agenda, the Election Commission of Pakistan, inter alia, took the following decisions unanimously:

i) The Commission approved submission of a summary to the Prime Minister for grant of full financial autonomy to the Election Commission for ensuring complete independence.

ii) The documents submitted by the following nine newly formed political parties were found to be in conformity with the provisions of the Political Parties Order, 2002 and directed to be retained on record in accordance with law:

a. Tehreek-i-Istehkaam Pakistan
b. Islamic Republican Party
c. Roshan Pakistan League
d. Pakistan Rah-e-Haq Party
e. Jammat Aalay Kalam Ullah wa Farmaan Rasool
f. Jannat Pakistan Party
g. Pakistan Mohajar League
h. Pakistan People’s Alliance
i. Bahawalpur National Awami Party

iii) The requests of allotment of symbols from the following three already recognized political parties were considered and symbols were allotted to these parties from the approved list of symbols and according to their preference.

a. Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan Cup and Saucer
b. Tehreek-e-Sooba Hazara Pakistan Truck
c. Mustaqbil Pakistan Wrench

iv) The details of intra-party elections of the following three political parties, submitted under Article 11(1) of the Political Parties Order, 2002, being in conformity with the provisions of law, were approved to be published in the official Gazette, as required under Article 12(3) of the Political Parties Order, 2002:

a. National Peoples Party
b. Pakistan Bachao Party
c. Pak Muslim Alliance

v) The Commission also approved providing SMS facility to the public for checking their vote registration, particulars etc and fixed nominal SMS charges for public i-e Rs.2.00 per SMS.

For more information, contact:
Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)
Election Commission of Pakistan Secretariat
Election House, Constitution Avenue G-5/2, Islamabad
Tel: +9251 920 1975, +9251 920 6062
Fax: +9251 920 5402, +9251 920 5300


Leave a Reply