Skip to Content

National Assembly Standing Committee on Water Resources meets


Islamabad, November 29, 2019 (PPI-OT): 08th meeting of the Standing Committee on Water Resources was held today under the Chairmanship of Nawab Muhammad Yousuf Talpur, MNA. The meeting started with the recitation from the Holy Quran. Thereafter, the Committee proceeded with the agenda. The Committee did not confirm the minutes of its previous meeting held on 6th November, 2019 with direction to the Ministry of Water Resources to take up the issue of Power Station, proposed to be constructed at Chashma Jhelum Link Kanal, in the CCI meeting expected to be held in near future.

The Committee discuss the Diamer/Basha and Mohmand Dams fund and the Ministry of Water Resources explained their position. However, the Committee directed that latest position of the funds deposited for these Dams and the expenditure incurred on advertisement through electronic and print media be provided in detail to the Committee in the next meeting.

The Committee also discussed the issue of Conservation of water and directed the Ministry to made perfect mechanism for supply and demand aspects of water and directed IRSA to install telemeter on the main rivers’ head works in this regard and a thorough report be presented to the Committee in the next meeting. The Committee also discussed the irrigated water resource management issue and recommended that sufficient funds be allocated for this purpose to all the Provinces and grass root public awareness be started through seminars and electronic/print media in which the importance of clean water should be highlighted to the nation.

The Hon. MNAs/Members Mr. Fazal Muhammad Khan, Mr. Ali Nawaz Awan, Ch. Shoukat Ali Bhatti, Dr. Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla, Ms. Naureen Farooq Khan, Ms. Nuzhat Pathan, Mr. Khalid Hussain Magsi, Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Mr. Riaz-ul-Haq, Ms. Maryam Aurangzaib, Mr. Munir Khan Orakzai and Parliamentary Secretary for Water Resources Minister for Irrigation, Government of Punjab attended the meeting. Besides then, Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, Secretary, Irrigation (Punjab), Special Secretary (Government of Sindh), Additional Secretary (Government of Baluchistan), Additional Secretary (Government of KPK), and senior officers from WAPDA with their staff also attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106