Skip to Content

Sunday, June 16th, 2019

Standing Committee on Information Technology and Telecommunication Meets

Be First!
by January 29, 2015 Miscellaneous

Islamabad, January 29, 2015 (PPI-OT): The Committee appreciated the efforts of the Ministry of Information Technology for making efforts to dredge out “Prevention of Electronic Crimes Bill” and preparing its draft in short span of time. The Committee also appreciated the Ministry for covering every aspect to control the cyber crimes in the Country.

Thereafter, the Committee discussed the Bill clause by clause and opined to revisit the punishments proposed in the Bill. The Committee also felt that some of the clauses of Bill need to be further defined and decided to discuss the Bill in its next meeting.

While discussing the issue of “improvement in performance of Mobile Cellular Companies after induction of 3G and 4G technology. The Committee recommended that PTA may direct the Mobile Companies to expand their network of services to under developed and rural areas of Pakistan.

The Committee appreciated the efforts of USF for establishing 500 Telecenters across the country and stressed upon the need to continue its working in future under its supervision. The Committee recommended that USF may ensure maximum possible utilization of its funds for the expansion of fiber cable network to the remote areas.

The Committee also discussed the SIM verification issue and termed it as extremely eminent in the present scenario of the Country. The Committee recommended that the process of SIM verification may be completed in minimum possible time.

Earlier, the Committee was briefed by Chairman, PTA about the performance of Mobile Cellular Companies, their areas of coverage, expected expansion projects and the obligations/conditions imposed in their Licenses. The Chairman also briefed about the Financial loss and problems of Mobile Network Companies for verification of SIMs.

MNAs, Mr. Muhammad Talal Chaudry, Mian Muhammad Farooq, Chaudhry Nazeer Ahmad, Sardar Awais Ahmad Khan Leghari, Mehar Ishtiaq Qamar, Ms. Zehra Wadood Fatemi, Major (R) Tahir Iqbal, Ms. Musart Rafique Mahesar, MNAs attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106

The post Standing Committee on Information Technology and Telecommunication Meets appeared first on AsiaNet-Pakistan.


Leave a Reply