Skip to Content

Top Level Committee Formed to Make Pakistan Digital

by December 13, 2019 General

The government of Pakistan has formed a committee that’s tasked to work on emerging technologies and promote the growth of the IT sector. Apparently this committee will be responsible for the to-do-list of Digital Pakistan, a campaign that Prime Minister launched a few days ago.

This committee comprises of members from both the public and private sectors. Dr. Arif Alvi, President of Pakistan, is going to be the Chief Patron of the committee while Dr. Khalid Maqbool, Minister for IT and Telecom will be the chairperson of the committee.

According to details, the committee will work in the following areas of the IT sector:

Artificial Intelligence and Robotics

Cloud Computing and Networking

Blockchain, Distributed Ledger, Cryptocurrencies and Digital Payments


Silicon Chip Design and Manufacturing

Broadband and Internet of Things

Digitalization of Government, including digital identification machines and voting technology

Cyber tools and apps particularly in education, health, population planning, bio-technology, e-commerce, e-education and e-tourism

Virtual and Augmented Reality

Cyber Security

Data ownership, data security and legislation

Any other matters connected to emerging technologies

We are yet unclear if this committee is going to do the policymaking only or if it will oversee the implementation of all the above-mentioned projects as well.

In addition to President of Pakistan and Minister of IT and Telecom, other members of the committee include:

President of Pakistan Chief Patron

Federal Minister of IT and Telecom Chairperson

Federal Secretary, MoIT Member / Secretary


Provincial Secretary, Punjab

Provincial Secretary, Sindh

Provincial Secretary, KPK

Provincial Secretary, GB

Provincial Secretary, Balochistan

Provincial Secretary, AJK

Director General (Technical), ISI


Tania Aidrus

Prof. Saad Ahmad Qazi

Mr. Ayub Khan

Mr. Azhar Zia Ur Rehman

Mr. Azhar Rizvi

Mr. Salman Ansari

Mr. Shahzad Shahid

Mr. Asif Peer

Mr. Khursheed Shah

Mr. Suleman Mehdi

Mr. Naeem Ashraf Rana

Mr. Hassan Syed

Syed. Feroze Shah

Dr. Ali Ahmed

Source: Pro Pakistani